Forum: Application & Admission (2 Comments)

Applying to MIM in HEC (GMAT 770, CGPA 6.2)

• Posted by - anshulg123 - on 22 September 2016 - 7:40pm

I did my Bachelors in Technology from Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi, India. Unfortunately I ended with a low CGPA(6.2) and no extracurricular activities to show (Except one project which I am really proud of). As soon as college ended I decided to follow my dream of learning how to run a successful business.
    I joined my father's business and fell in love with it. I worked there for around 8 months before deciding to learn international business.
    I then joined an US based IT company in Delhi, India in May 2016 as an iOS Developer. I got assigned the role of Business Analyst after one month. Currently working on setting up a new subsidiary for our CEO while also working on a data analysis project.
    I gave my GMAT(770) and learnt French(A1). I love France and have some friends already there and so have decided to study the nuances of international business from HEC or Essec.

-My question is, how much would the low CGPA and lack of extracurricular activities hurt my chances?
    -And would they consider the work I did at my father's as relevant experience considering I was not paid and no official paperwork was filed regarding my employment?

• Posted by - Thomas Graf - on 23 September 2016 - 11:11am

Hi there,

thank you for your message. For some schools such as the HEC and Masters in Management, the grade is the most important crtiterion when they select their students. But for others (such as IE), the grade is less important and you can compensate other interesting parts of your CV or a strong GMAT (such as yours) for a low grade.