Forum: School selection (8 Comments)

school selection

• Posted by - ayushisethia - on 12 July 2015 - 2:14pm

hi

my name is ayushi and i have just graduated in B.Sc Mathematics hons(3 yrs)-i got 76% which is 1st class with distinction. i gave the gmat and scored 710. Apart from this i have been a volunteer in an NGO for last 2 years and i am also doing an internship there since march 2015. i studied french and crossed the A1 level and i also have one certification from edx .

i wanted to know if my profile is good for applying to MIM of schools like HEC,LSE because i am thinking of working soon . so should i work for a year and then apply or apply now . Also i would want to know which other schools could i apply to ?

thanks
    ayushi

• Posted by - ayushisethia - on 13 July 2015 - 2:15pm

hi

No i did not that time , though LSE had mentioned about competitive profiles with work experience in their email.

regards
      Ayushi Sethia

• Posted by - Thomas Graf - on 13 July 2015 - 2:42pm

That's a valuable information. LSE seems to offer not the "typical" MIM as they have 3 months to 5 years of work experience in their admission requirements. Now, 3 months to 5 years is a big range and teh question is what they prefer. Do you want to have a mix of younger and unexperienced students and of more experienced stduents? Do they prefer more experienced ones?

Check my MIM eBook Chapter ANALYZE PROGRAMS to see how you can find out more about the actual program characteristic (e.g., check the student statistics on the website, get in contact with students and alumni and ask them...).

As for the HEC, it is still open why they rejected you.

Why don't you contact both schools and openly say:

1. that you got rejected last year
        2. that you would like to apply again but that yu are unsure if it makes sense
        3. what has changed in your CV since your last application
        4. and if they would recommend you to apply again