Forum: Application & Admission (4 Comments)

Profile evaluation

• Posted by - icefrog - on 7 September 2015 - 9:16pm

Hi Thomas! I just went through the book - 'How you find the best masters in management'. I have a few queries.

Here's my profile

BS in Material Science. - Indian Institute Of Science, Bangalore (The best research institute in India). I'm in my final year now.

GPA - 5.2/8
    It is pretty bad, but the grading system in our college is actually pretty tough since we take courses along with Masters and PhD students. I don't know how to convey that to the adcoms. Plus I've been working on a startup and admit that I neglected my academics to some extent.

GMAT - 720 (Q48 V40) - I am thinking of retaking it since my GPA is low and I believe that with 3 weeks of prep I can get 750+

Founder of a startup with decent revenue and presence. I have to get it registered though. My mentor said it would be better to register after ample experimentation. Will do it before applying anywhere.
    Cultural Outreach and Publicity Coordinator of our college fest.
    VP marketing of the entrepreneurship group of our college.
    Founder and President of the Orators Club of the college.
    Placed first in the Economix FEUI, and invited to Jakarta.
    Worked as an intern in Tech Mahindra
    Have been involved in multiple research projects.

I have identified the need to apply this year itself because ours is a research oriented degree and the jobs here are not very good. An MIM right now would be really helpful.

Here are my target schools

LBS, HEC Paris, Duke MMS, Kellogg MIM, ISB YLP, YTP, HBS 2+2, Yale Silver Scholars, various MEM from top US colleges like Stanford,

Here are my queries.

1. What are my chances at these schools?
    2. Which programs are easier to get into? From my understanding HBS and YALE are a very long shot. But how difficult is it to get into MEM programs?